Scroll To Top

Reset your Macbook to factory default setting

Posted in Article, Download, OS, Tech3 months ago • Written by MurtaxaNo Comments

Reset your Macbook to factory default setting

Sometimes, If you want a clean Mac,you can reset your Macbook to factory default setting. Whenever you want to reset your mac to factory setting. It means your are erasing all your data, everything you’ve done on the Mac, and reverting it back to just like it was newly uncovered from it’s box.

Ordinarily, losing absolutely everything unique on your Mac would be cause for concern, and possibly thrown keyboards. But there are scenarios where a full wipe and restore session can prove valuable. The most common is when you want to sell your Macbook as a used device through someplace like eBay or Amazon. The buyer is not going to buy a Mac with a hard drive full of someone else’s data, so resellers typically work to reset the computer. So, now you need to reset your macbook to factory setting that there should not remain any of your data inside it.

Restart your Macbook:

First of all make sure that  you are connected to the Internet (open Safari and browse around). You need an internet connection to install Mac OS X. Restart the Mac by clicking on Apple > Restart and hold down the Command and R keys until the Recovery Mode Utilities window appears. As it is shown at the picture.
MacOS Reinstall

This should pop you over to the MacOS Utilities, where you can make various important and potentially dangerous changes. Select Disk Utility the last option. Now, this process is going to be a little different based on what version of MacOS you are using, but you will want to look for your startup disk or other startup-related information. Select it and then click on the Erase tab. Next, head over to the Format option and set it to Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Again select Erase. This may take some time. Once finished, all of your data has been removed, go to the Disk Utility menu back and select Quit Disk Utility.

Disk Utility Mac

 

Now your are going to Reinstall

Now you’ve erased everything that made your Mac special, but wiping your system is only half the way there to going back to factory settings. Once you have  quit out of Disk Utility, you will see an option toReinstall your current MacOS. Select that reinstall option, confirm that you really want to do it, and proceed. You may have to click through a few confirmations before the installation is ready to begin.

MacOS Reinstall

Now click on Reinstall OS X and continue to follow the on-screen instructions. This will download and install a blank copy of Mac OS X Yosemite on the Mac. Do not enter your Apple ID and password during setup though; allow the person buying the Mac (if that’s the case) to finish the setup process themselves.

This is where you need to have your computer connected to the Internet, because Internet connection is necessary . Apple keeps all the factory setting data on its own servers these days. With a net connection, your Mac can look for its original source material and download a new, off-the-assembly-line version of all its settings.

Note: This online download solution works only for the newer versions of MacOS. This shouldn’t be a problem with most of today’s Macs as long as you are running something like Lion, Mountain Lion, El Captian or newer operating systems, which all download factory settings from the Web. But if you are working with Snow Leopard or an earlier version of MacOS software for whatever reason, these cannot reinstall online. You will need the original MacOS installation disc that came with your computer, so get ready to dig it out if necessary.

When you reinstall MacOS, you will see a setup assistant start with basic questions about your region and so on. If you are selling or giving your Mac away, you will want to leave the setup assistant untouched. Instead, hold down the Commandand Q keys, and they select Shut Down to turn the Mac off but leave the setup assistant waiting for next time.

If you want to, you can fully reinstall a version of MacOS without erasing any of your past data permanently. Think of this as the “lite” version of a full wipe. You don’t need to erase your disk if you just want to start fresh and aren’t planning on giving your Mac to another person.

MacOS-Sierra-features

This option is useful if you have a lot of corrupted data, a malware problem you can’t isolate, or annoying bugs due to a fault update. However, it may leave behind data that would be relatively easy to recover ,  so it’s not a good idea if you are selling or giving away your Mac.

  • Shut down your Mac, then restart. Immediately after turning your computer on, hold down Command and R, then release the keys when you see the Apple logo. This will open the Utilities window.
  • Skip the erase option and go straight to Reinstall MacOS. Confirm that you want to reinstall. This will install the latest version of the OS that was previously installed on your computer, and hopefully fix any problem you have. Keep in mind that you still need to backup all the data that you want to save.

Alternative: Use Time Machine

If you already use Time Machine to store backups of your data, you can also use it to restore a particular version of your computer. This is useful if you would rather restore particular settings and data rather than go for a full wipe back to default – perhaps to save data while dealing with a bug or other problem.

  • Once again, shut down your Mac, then restart. Immediately after turning your computer on, hold down Command and R, then release the keys when you see the Apple logo. This will open the Utilities window.
  • Now, instead of going to Reinstall, choose Restore from Time Machine Backup. Note that if you saved a backup on an external hard drive or server, your Mac must be connected to that device to perform this full restoration.

Tips on saving data

Obviously a full wipe and reset is a big move, and you’ll have to tread carefully if there’s any data you want to keep. Backing up your computer is a vital step and highly suggested before you begin any of the wipe procedures. Here are a few tips on the best ways you can save Mac data.

  • Use Time Machine, because it allows you to save state on your Mac settings and data, usually via an external hard drive (if you don’t have one laying around, consider buying one for this and other backup needs). Then you can transfer that snapshot of your Mac, including all your information, into a Time Capsule and essentially move your computer to another Mac system. This is nice if you are upgrading computers and selling your old Mac.
  • You may need to reinstall your Apple apps on your new computer when moving data. Visit the Mac App Store, and you’ll see an option to reinstall any apps you may be missing.
  • If you have both computers at the same time, you can use Migration Assistant to simply migrate your data from one to the other and cut out the middleman via some quick drive cloning.
  • Cloud backup services can help out a little here, but most cloud accounts don’t have enough data space to back up a full Mac’s worth of information, so it’s best to stick with physical backup sources for a project like this.
TAGS: , , , ,

Leave A Response